Woods Constructional Engineers is located at 12 Acorn Road, Dry Creek
Our large undercover workshop approx 1700 m2 complete with overhead cranes and storage space of 2000 m2 enables us to fabricate the largest of projects, including space to fabricate 18 meter plus rafters/beams/trusses, and an ample metalworking benching area.
Maintaining the family business values, with a workforce of 15 – 20, some of which have been with this company for over 30 years, we can offer years of experience and accommodate efficient liaison with our clients.
MetalworkOz branding was created in 2011 enabling us to brand our Metalwork items for future client reference.
This has proven fruitful given that all future clients can view the quality of our work on the many projects in and around South Australia.
Jack completed his trade working for Hallweld Pty Ltd situated in Norwood.
He left Hallwelds and registered his own company Wood’s Constructional Engineers Pty Ltd on 23rd August 1957.
Wood's Constructional Engineers Pty Ltd had its factory originally located at 6 Kenneth Avenue UNDERDALE.
Jack started with one other employee (a boilermaker) and between them they fabricated mainly metalwork items for the building industry. The only other worker was an unpaid labourer/ spray painter, his wife Mary while their two children were at school.
By 1959 most of Jack’s fabrication was for Fricker Brothers Pty Ltd (one of the largest commercial builders in Adelaide) who didn’t have a fabrication shop of their own.
In 1960 Fricker Bros Pty Ltd offered Jack a position of Manager to run a structural steel section to their business, which operated, from Carrington Street in the city (between Hutt St East Tce), an offer too good to refuse.
Wood's Constructional Engineers Pty Ltd ceased trading in 1960 and didn’t reopen until 1st February 1971 when Jack decided to leave Fricker Bros and return to running his own business. Jack remained good friends with all the Fricker brothers and continued fabricating for them on many of their projects.
Jack's son John joined the company on 19th September 1974 as a 23 year old after seven years with Marshall & Brougham (a mid size general builder) doing an apprenticeship and spending time as a carpenter/joiner.
Jack sold the 6 Kenneth Ave Underdale premises and moved to 4 Gordon Avenue CLEARVIEW in April 1976 and remained there until 1983 when he bought land and built new factory and offices at the current location of 12 Acorn Road DRY CREEK.
Jack semi-retired at this stage but continued to run the company leaving the production side to John.
Mid 2009 John Woods retired to enjoy time with his family and sold the business to Brad Thorp. Brad who was employed by John as an apprentice back in 1996, completed his trade as a Boilermaker and then gained the much needed experience in estimating and management with John at the helm.
Brad continues to manage Woods Constructions and enjoys the odd visit and chat with John in regard to business and life.